Tennessee Tattoo License

Tennessee Tattoo License

Tennessee Tattoo License is an essential document for those who want to work as body art specialists in this state. That is to say, if you work as a tattooist in Tennessee without a certificate, you will conduct a crime. Tennessee requires certificates in order to make sure that the public stays safe when they are getting tattoos. In addition, the permit for these professionals ensures that the specialists are familiar with sterilization and other necessary techniques. Moreover, to be a successfully qualified expert, you need to take into consideration several points.

How to get a Tennessee Tattoo License?

In each state and each municipality, there are different rules and regulations regarding licensure. In the state of Tennessee, there are two regulatory organizations for tattoos. Those are:

  • Tennessee Department of Health
  • General Environmental Health

The main body that deals with body art experts authorizations the Tennessee Department of Health. Only tattooists should contact the latter with the request for certification. In addition, applicants are eligible if they:

  • are 18 years old or above.
  • have fulfilled a training program.
  • passed an exam.
  • have completed an apprenticeship for 12 months or more.
  • submitted an application.
  • have obtained a business permit in case of working on their own.

Make sure to fulfill these steps to be able to obtain your certificate.

About the application

Anyone who wants to get a permit has to submit a form. The applicants must submit it to the Department of Health or its appointee. Also, you should consider that there are three types of authorizations. Those are:

  • Tattoo artist
  • Apprentice artist
  • Temporary artist

All candidates, regardless of the certificate type, have to pay a $140 application fee.

Tennessee Tattoo License Training Program

Before submitting the form, each professional must complete a training program. Furthermore, the latter include:

  • the alliance with a specialized tattooer course in sterilization
  • a course approved by the regulatory section regarding methods of sterilization of tools and materials used in the process of tattooing
  • state or local health department program
  • proper proof of having completed a course in sterilization methods and methods

In addition, the duration of the tattooing course is 5 days. On the first day, you will explore the theoretical part. It consists of topics such as:

  • Hygiene requisite
  • Laws and legislation
  • Business advice (how to create a successful business in this field)
  • Learn about different techniques

Furthermore, those techniques include watercolor, realism, neotraditional, and so on.

Age restrictions

Just like in South Carolina, in Tennessee as well, it is illegal to tattoo a person below 18 years of age. Also, if you do so, it will be considered a misdemeanor.

On the contrary, if you are 16 years old or above, you can get a cover-up tattoo on the already existing one. However, in this case, you should provide written authorization from your parents or your legal guardian.


The registrations of all tattooists and apprentice artists expire each year on December 31. The renewals are issued when the studio is already inspected and found in proper conditions. What is more, a temporary permit does not have to be renewed. In contrast, certificates for businesses have to be renewed annually. Specifically, you should do a license renewal after an annual inspection. You can extend your authorization if you follow the rules and make payments on time. Moreover, the local regulatory section is responsible for the inspections.

Regarding the violations

If the applicants do not follow all rules and regulations, they will be considered lawbreakers. Moreover, there are two categories of violations. Those are:

  • Critical
  • Minor

In case of critical violations, you can be penalized. That is to say, you will have to pay a $100 penalty. In addition, if the association finds it necessary, your body art shop might be closed. If you conduct your second critical violence within 12 months, you must pay $500, as a penalty. Besides, in this case, you might lose your permit.

In case of a minor violation, the amount of penalty differs. Most often you have to pay $25, as a sanction.

Mane S

Mane S

Mane S., Author at License Lookup